Improving my cranky face

Parenting is a world of being in charge and I needed a haircut that gives me that gravitas, that ‘clean up your room now’ look.    Who better than Helen Mirren and her Prime Suspect face.

b3011c1b811686df6f726d36ffe5a84f

Prime Suspect 1

Helen Mirren as DCI Jane Tennison
Copyright Granada Television

For comparison, does the ‘I’m in charge’ face change when she has longer hair?

4415378_-_Helen_Mirren_-_prime_suspect-xlarge_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BquKSS4gTgb7Ac_F1sMhpbZpSvYCXGiC6WetVcDrmuSho

Can short hair change your whole career?

5d8bbae4e610f98e9013c2310aec58ef

When a suit of armour and a quest to bring the family back together calls;  short hair is required. Also clean up your room!

Gwendoline_Christie__Game_of_Thrones_would_easily_beat_Downton_Abbey_in_a_fight

There is always a fine balance with short hair, age and make up.   Too short and too blonde ?

Brigitte+Nielsen+Bondi+Blonde+Style+Mansion+9olnKjeSLipl

I saw Brigitte Nielsen once in a nightclub and thought, she has a small head.   Best to avoid short hair on a pinhead.   Sometimes you need a bit of hair for balance.

 

 

e5fc209f9e3564b68c1ef476cee950e0

Being French and having short hair looks chic and intelligent without a cranky face.

ines-de-la-fressange-karl-lagerfeld

Ines and Karl looking very serious about a loose shoulder pad.

Ines de la Fressange

The french hip-hop sultry look.  As done by Ines de la Fressange

 

Another long hair career changing moment.  From Princess Buttercup to…

robin-wright-at-google-netflix-whca-weekend-party_1

Claire Underwood.  Can you be as fierce and demonic with long hair?

tumblr_mxxg14kQYE1s2drfjo8_1280

Loved by the people and with short hair.   I think they didn’t need to clean their rooms themselves.

A year ago I cut my hair short for the first time since a disastrous cut when I was 14.   I never thought I had ‘the face’ for short hair and I would look less feminine. I now enjoy seeing the varieties of short hair and the styles that follow.  There are wrong ways of doing any type of hair so it’s not a given that the hair will work but I’m happy I took that risk.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

